New Tech Horizon: "geek's guide to Databases ? A.K.A. HELP!!!!!!! - New Tech Horizon

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

"geek's guide to Databases ? A.K.A. HELP!!!!!!! my first foray into database work

#1 User is offline   othman11 

• Excellent Member
  • PipPipPip
  • Group: Review Team
  • LocationI live in my own little world and they like me there!

Posted 06 December 2010 - 07:21 PM

At work this morning, I was assigned a new task. I was given the task of creating a database. I have no clue how or where to start.
I'm a medical devise inspector, at the DC level. I have product come in that's too small or doesn't need a full on inspection. These products (surgical instruments and the like) usually just get the old mark one eyeball treatment. Now I will have to create this database...somehow. I will have access to the DC inventory database and a brand specific database. I will be pulling the product number and description from these other databases, to populate the new one by using the purchase order. This will all be using Access 2007......YIKES!!!!! :big-mad:

I have a feeling that I'm making this harder than it really is, but I have no idea what I'm doing. :boo hoo:

Page 1 of 1

Other Replies To This Topic

#2 User is offline   Agent51 

• Administrator
  • Group: Site Owner
  • LocationNorth Carolina USA

Posted 06 December 2010 - 07:43 PM

First, do you have to use Access?
if not, I would not.
from what I know about databases, you really dont want to merge 2 together.
I dont think you can but im not sure.
I would think the best thing to do is find an inventory software with a database and import the data from both into the new.
I have no Idea how to do this though. It would take a programmer.

#3 User is offline   Agent51 

• Administrator
  • Group: Site Owner
  • LocationNorth Carolina USA

Posted 06 December 2010 - 07:51 PM

http://databases.about.com/od/tutorials/ss/createaccessdb.htm